Susanna Mälkki & Alexei Ogrintchouk

Thu 12/10/2017 19:00 - 21:00
Tickets: 36.00-7.00 €


Having survived the horrors of the Third Reich, Richard Strauss experienced an artistic reawakening in his 80s. An American corporal who happened to be principal oboist of the Pittsburgh Orchestra in civilian life visited the great composer at his Bavarian home in the spring of 1945 and enquired if he had ever considered writing an oboe concerto. The idea grew on Strauss, resulting in one of the great achievements for the instrument and a real challenge for even the most skilled virtuosos. Alexei Ogrintchouk, soloist with the renowned Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, is certainly up to the task.



  • Susanna Mälkki


  • Alexei Ogrintchouk



  • 19.00
    Richard Strauss

    Oboekonsertto D-duuri

  • Erik Bergman


  • 21.00
    Richard Strauss

    Ruusuritari sarja

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take photos of the orchestra?

Yes, but only before or after the concert. During the concert we just want you to enjoy the music. This way you won’t disturb the musicians or other audience members.

How can I order interval refreshments?

Simply call 020 762 4862, send an e-mail to​ or click on the link Interval refreshments for groups of 30 or more should be ordered from the sales service.

Do I have to dress up to attend a concert?

Only the orchestra has a dress code. You can dress as you like.

I have a season ticket but want to change my seat – what should I do?

If you would like to change your seat, you can purchase a new season ticket from the seats available when they go on sale. Unclaimed seats will be made available for individual concerts when the sales period for season tickets ends.

I have a season ticket but can’t make it to the concert – what should I do?

You can give the ticket to a friend or donate it to a music student by calling 09-3102 2700 or sending an e-mail to by 3pm on the day of the concert.