Susanna Mälkki ehdolla vuoden oopperakapellimestariksi

HKO:n ylikapellimestari Susanna Mälkki on ehdokkaana International Opera Awards-kapellimestariksi.

Susanna Mälkin kanssa ehdokkaina ovat mm. Esa-Pekka Salonen ja Riccardo Chailly.
Alla uutinen the International Opera Awards -verkkosivustolta.

With more than 20,000 nominations made, the International Opera Awards is pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s Awards. These were selected by an international jury chaired by John Allison, editor of Opera magazine and classical music critic with The Daily Telegraph, ‘Once again, it was both a challenge and a pleasure for us to produce these shortlists, and I am very grateful to our distinguished jury. The quality of the nominations—received in record numbers this year—was very high, and I hope our lists prove that for all the difficulties faced by the world’s opera companies, opera is in fact in a healthy and vibrant state.’
The 2017 International Opera Awards, hosted by BBC Radio 3 presenter Petroc Trelawny, will take place on Sunday 7 May at 6.30pm at the London Coliseum. This is the first year that BBC Radio 3 is partnered with the International Opera Awards. As in previous years, the evening will feature live performances from internationally renowned singers. Past performances have been given by Lawrence Brownlee, Ermonela Jaho, Gregory Kunde and Aleksandra Kurzak. BBC Radio 3 will broadcast highlights from the awards ceremony in a special 90-minute programme on Sunday 21 May at 7.30pm.
The finalists below have been selected for their achievements over the 2016 calendar year. In addition to the 17 categories listed, the winners of the awards for Philanthropist, Lifetime Achievement, and Leadership (a new award sponsored by the Good Governance Institute) will be announced at a later date. 
Founded by opera lover and philanthropist Harry Hyman, the International Opera Awards exists not only to celebrate established stars, but to support the next generation of talent. The Awards raises money for the Opera Awards Foundation, a charity which provides bursaries to aspiring operatic talent around the world.

Riccardo Chailly
Philippe Jordan
Lothar Koenigs
Susanna Mälkki
Ingo Metzmacher
Esa-Pekka Salonen