Allegoria della notte

Fri 06/03/2020 19:00 - 21:00
Tickets: 46.00-9.50 €


The overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream was conceived in Berlin in the Mendelssohn family’s enormous garden, where the young Felix and his sisters presented pageants, plays and musical performances inspired by the likes of Shakespeare. Salvatore Sciarrino took inspiration for his Allegoria della notte from Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto. As Sciarrino himself put it, the piece is ”the uninhabited side of Planet Mendelssohn” whose darkness is dissipated by the themes of the violin concerto.


  • Olari Elts


  • Ilja Gringolts



  • 19.00
    Felix Mendelssohn

    A Midsummer Night's Dream, overture

  • Salvatore Sciarrino

    Allegoria della notte for violin and orchestra

  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Violin Concerto in E minor

  • Interval 25 min

  • Lotta Wennäkoski


  • 21.00
    Felix Mendelssohn

    Symphony No. 1

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take photos of the orchestra?

Yes, but only before or after the concert. During the concert we just want you to enjoy the music. This way you won’t disturb the musicians or other audience members.

How can I order interval refreshments?

Simply call 020 762 4862, send an e-mail to​ or the Restis app. Interval refreshments for groups of 30 or more should be ordered from the sales service.

Do I have to dress up to attend a concert?

Only the orchestra has a dress code. You can dress as you like.

I have a season ticket but want to change my seat – what should I do?

If you would like to change your seat, you can purchase a new season ticket from the seats available when they go on sale. Unclaimed seats will be made available for individual concerts when the sales period for season tickets ends.

I have a season ticket but can’t make it to the concert – what should I do?

You can give the ticket to a friend or donate it to a music student by calling 09-3102 2700 or sending an e-mail to by 3pm on the day of the concert.