HPO & Jukka-Pekka Saraste - Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5

Sat 21/09/2019 15:00 - 15:45
free entry


Free admission!

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

A composer plagued by inner conflicts, Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893) was not a happy man. In his last three symphonies, he seems to have poured out his feelings in a narrative in which the defiant hero is himself. He completed his last symphony, no. 6, only weeks before his death in dubious circumstances.

Tchaikovsky wrote a precise scenario for his Symphony No. 5 (1888), but evidence has been preserved of only the text for the first movement: the clarinet introduction represents “a complete resignation before fate.” The Allegro that follows expresses “doubts…..reproaches against xxx” (possibly alluding to his homosexuality, in those days a criminal offence). He borrowed the fate theme running right through the symphony from Glinka’s opera A Life for the Tsar. Over the second movement he is said to have written: “Oh, how I love you! oh my friend!, possibly alluding to his patroness Nadezhda von Meck. The third movement enters the world of the ballet to which he always fled from the pressures of real life. In the finale, the fate theme becomes increasingly ominous, as if to underline that there is no escape from fate.


  • Jukka-Pekka Saraste



  • 15.00
    Pjotr Tšaikovski

    Symphony No. 5

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take photos of the orchestra?

Yes, but only before or after the concert. During the concert we just want you to enjoy the music. This way you won’t disturb the musicians or other audience members.

Do I have to dress up to attend a concert?

Only the orchestra has a dress code. You can dress as you like.

I have a season ticket but can’t make it to the concert – what should I do?

You can give the ticket to a friend or donate it to a music student by calling 09-3102 2700 or sending an e-mail to helsinki.philharmonic@hel.fi by 3pm on the day of the concert.