Il poema sinfonico

Fri 01/11/2019 19:00 - 21:00
Tickets: 46.00-9.50 €


”Veli Kujala performs magic tricks for a hobby. This can perhaps be heard in his music,” says violinist Eriikka Maalismaa, describing the musical language of this evening’s debuting composer. Maalismaa is a freelance musician who enjoys working with alternative orchestras, concert series and mini-festivals in and around Helsinki. Respighi’s Rome trilogy will be performed in its entirety during the concert season. When the composer conducted the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra in 1933, the programme also featured The Pines of Rome.


  • Osmo Vänskä


  • Eriikka Maalismaa



  • 19.00
    Ottorino Respighi

    The Pines of Rome

  • Veli Kujala

    ”Auseil” Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (premiere)

  • Interval 25 min

  • 21.00
    Sergei Rahmaninov

    Symphony No. 1

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take photos of the orchestra?

Yes, but only before or after the concert. During the concert we just want you to enjoy the music. This way you won’t disturb the musicians or other audience members.

How can I order interval refreshments?

Simply call 020 762 4862, send an e-mail to​ or the Restis app. Interval refreshments for groups of 30 or more should be ordered from the sales service.

Do I have to dress up to attend a concert?

Only the orchestra has a dress code. You can dress as you like.

I have a season ticket but want to change my seat – what should I do?

If you would like to change your seat, you can purchase a new season ticket from the seats available when they go on sale. Unclaimed seats will be made available for individual concerts when the sales period for season tickets ends.

I have a season ticket but can’t make it to the concert – what should I do?

You can give the ticket to a friend or donate it to a music student by calling 09-3102 2700 or sending an e-mail to by 3pm on the day of the concert.