Spring Dances

Wed 20/03/2019 19:00 - 21:00
Tickets: 37.00-7.00 €


Right before departing for America, Béla Bartók composed a violin concerto that suggests a stylised version of his biography. Combining classical forms, folk dancing rhythms and contemporary Modernist themes, the piece demands emotion and skill in equal measure from the soloist. Spring gets underway in the city under the leadership of conductor Matthias Pintscher.


  • Matthias Pintscher


  • Elina Vähälä



  • 19.00
    Claude Debussy

    Rondes des printemps

  • Béla Bartók

    Violin Concerto No. 2

  • 21.00
    Robert Schumann

    Symphony No. 1 "Spring"

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take photos of the orchestra?

Yes, but only before or after the concert. During the concert we just want you to enjoy the music. This way you won’t disturb the musicians or other audience members.

How can I order interval refreshments?

Simply call 020 762 4862, send an e-mail to ravintolat.musiikkitalo@restel.fi​ or the Restis app. Interval refreshments for groups of 30 or more should be ordered from the sales service.

Do I have to dress up to attend a concert?

Only the orchestra has a dress code. You can dress as you like.

I have a season ticket but want to change my seat – what should I do?

If you would like to change your seat, you can purchase a new season ticket from the seats available when they go on sale. Unclaimed seats will be made available for individual concerts when the sales period for season tickets ends.

I have a season ticket but can’t make it to the concert – what should I do?

You can give the ticket to a friend or donate it to a music student by calling 09-3102 2700 or sending an e-mail to helsinki.philharmonic@hel.fi by 3pm on the day of the concert.