HPO presents an exceptional autumn season

The Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra opens the autumn season with a sinfonietta-sized ensemble. During the beginning of the autumn the HPO will have four longer than usual artistic periods, during which each concert will be repeated 3-4 times during the concert week at the Music Centre - and much asked for daytime concerts are introduced in the early afternoons.

The orchestra will only publicize the program for September and October at this time. 

Conductors for these periods are the head conductor for HPO Susanna Mälkki and the international musical multitalents Nathalie Stutzmann and Pekka Kuusisto. As soloists HPO welcomes violinist Elina Vähälä and pianist Janne Mertanen. Sibelius’ rarely performed melodrama Wood-Nymph is recited by Rabbe Smedlund. 

Chief conductor Mälkki expresses how she and the orchestra are looking forward to the start of the autumn season. ”We are, to say the least, impatient to get back to playing together and to welcome the audience back into the Music Centre. At the beginning of the autumn HPO goes back to its roots by playing with a smaller than usual ensemble – and Kajanus’ original orchestra had 36 musicians. We will delve into the interaction between music and movement with brand new dance pieces and as per usual, we will combine the old with the new.” 

The concerts also offer a series of premieres, where a musician and a dancer create a duet piece together. The series includes new choreographies by Tero Saarinen, Sonya Lindfors, Auri Ahola and Natasha Lommi. The last concert of each concert period will be streamed live as an HKO Screen-webcast on the orchestra website and on the mobile app. Two of the concerts will be broadcasted live on Yle Radio 1.  


Library tour starts in September 

Alongside the concerts at the Music Centre the HPO autumn season is ripe with chamber music concerts in cultural centers and churches all around Helsinki. The library tour, which starts in September, promises a ca half hour concert at noon, every weekday, at some library in Helsinki, until the end of October. During the library tour orchestra musicians will visit each and every one of Helsinki’s 37 local libraries and the library bus. A specific schedule is available from August at and 


Ticket sales and instructions for safe visits at the Music Centre 

The durations of the concerts in September and October are approximately 1 hour and are without intermissions. Tickets go on sale on Tuesday August 11th. Around 400 tickets are sold for each concert and tickets are sold only for seats that meet the recuirments of safe distances. If the safety regulations later permit more tickets will be made available. These seats may be places in between already sold seats.  

Only single tickets are sold for the autumn season. Series tickets reserved for the spring season 2020 are automatically transferred to the spring season 2021. The program for October-December is to be publicized later in the autumn.  

Concert tickets are on sale at TicketMaster tel. +358 600 10 800 (1.98 e/min + LNC) and (we recommend buying tickets online).   

Guidelines for safe visits at the Music Centre are compiled on this website :  


Concerts in the Music Centre September-October 2020  


tue 8.9. at 18.00  

thur 10.9. at 12.00  

thur 10.9. at 15.00  

fri 11.9. at 19.00 (HKO Screen -webcast)  


Susanna Mälkki, conductor 
Rabbe Smedlund, reciter 
Jenny Villanen, flute 
Natasha Lommi, choreography, dance     

Jean Sibelius: Impromptu 
Richard Strauss: Serenade for winds Eb Major op. 7  
Jean Sibelius: Skogsrået op. 15, melodrama  
Toru Takemitsu: Voice  
Sergei Prokofjev: Symphony no 1 "Classical"  
Jean Sibelius: Cassazione op. 6  


tue 22.9. at 18.00  

thur 24.9. at 12.00  

thur 24.9. at 15.00   

fri 25.9. at 19.00 (HKO Screen -webcast, Yle Radio 1)  


Pekka Kuusisto, conductor, violin  
Elina Vähälä, violin 
Sonya Lindfors, choreography 

Missy Mazzoli: Vespers for Violin  
Anna Thorvaldsdottir: Hrím  
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Divertimento D Major KV 136  
Sándor Veress: Four Transylvanian Dances  
Magnus Lindberg: Violin Concerto no 1  


tue 6.10. at 18.00  

thur 8.10. at 12.00  

fre 9.10. at 19.00 (HKO Screen -webcast)  


Nathalie Stutzmann, conductor  
Janne Mertanen, piano  
Atte Kilpeläinen, viola  
Auri Ahola, choreography and dance  

Richard Wagner: Siegfried-idyll 
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano concerto no 23 A Major  
Nico Muhly: Étude 3  
Maurice Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin, orchestral suite   


tue 27.10. at 13.00  

wed 28.10. at 12.00  

wed 28.10. at 19.00  

thur 29.10. at 19.00 (HKO Screen -webcast, Yle Radio 1)  

Susanna Mälkki, conductor 
Xavi Castelló Aràndiga, precussions  
Tero Saarinen, choreography 
Oskari Kymäläinen, dance 

Gustav Mahler: Adagio from Symphony no 10  
Jean Sibelius: The Lover, orchestral suite, op. 14 
Iannis Xenakis: Rebonds B  
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony no 1