210324_1JYT E.CAREN-3646.jpg

Fokus Bruckner II

Thu 21/03/2024 19:00 - 21:00


Jean-Yves Thibaudet is one of the finest pianists of our time. He has also collaborated with film, fashion and visual arts professionals.

C is red, D is yellow, A is green and F is light blue. In addition to parts for the piano and orchestra, Aleksandr Scriabin composed a part for a light organ in his Poem of Fire. The task of the instrument was to create a stream of changing light situations in the concert hall with the help of different coloured lamps. Jean-Yves Thibaudet is one of the finest pianists of our time. He has recorded more than 50 albums and collaborated also with film, fashion and visual arts professionals.

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 in D Minor

His 9th symphony still lay unfinished on his desk when Anton Bruckner died in Vienna in 1896. He had begun composing it in 1887 but only managed to complete the first three movements and probably most of the finale; the material for this last movement was then lost. Many attempts have been made to reconstruct it, but the symphony is still mostly performed in a three-movement version. Strangely enough, it does not give the impression of being unfinished.

Bruckner was a perfectionist, and unfortunately too ready to heed others’ suggestions for improvements. He also allowed his pupils to make alterations that did not always agree with his original intentions. For this reason, the symphony exists in several versions. The one to be heard at this concert was made by Leopold Nowak, who made a critical edition of Bruckner’s works from the late 1940s onwards at the request of the International Bruckner Society.

A devout Catholic, Bruckner intended to dedicate the finished work “dem lieben Gott” – to the beloved God. The symphony may be described as a journey from doubt and anxiety to hope and light.

Jukka-Pekka Saraste

Jukka-Pekka Saraste, now beginning his term as Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, has established himself as one of the outstanding conductors of his generation. Born in Heinola, Finland, in 1956, he began his career as a violinist. Today, he is renowned as an artist of exceptional versatility and breadth. He maintains a particularly strong connection to the works of Beethoven, Bruckner, Shostakovich, Stravinsky and Sibelius and is internationally celebrated for his interpretations of Mahler. During the 2023/2024 season, together with the HPO, Saraste will delve deeper into the symphonic heritage of Sibelius, Mahler and Bruckner over several extended concert periods, as well as highlight composers and music of our own time.

As head of the Artistic Leadership Team of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Saraste emphasises the importance of music for both society and individuals.

”Music is a particularly strong part of Finnish culture, and the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra itself plays a significant role in building our identities. As I begin my term as Chief Conductor, I want to engage in the orchestra’s efforts to be the orchestra of all Helsinki residents. The brainstorming between the Artistic Leadership Team and members of the orchestra has been very close. Experiencing music as part of a community is one of the greatest things an orchestra can offer its listeners.”

Jukka-Pekka Saraste’s previous positions include the principal conductorships of the WDR Symphony Orchestra in Cologne, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. He has also served as Principal Guest Conductor of the BBC Symphony Orchestra. As guest conductor he appears with the major orchestras worldwide and in recent years conducted the likes of the Orchestre de Paris, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and the NHK Symphony Orchestra.

Saraste considers it important to coach and mentor musicians at the beginning of their careers. He is a founding member of the LEAD! Foundation, a mentorship programme for young conductors and soloists that has run projects in Sweden, Switzerland, Germany and Bulgaria, amongst others. The LEAD! Masterclass in summer 2023 was held once again in conjunction with the annual Fiskars Summer Festival, where a multinational symphony orchestra of young musicians worked under the direction of Saraste and guest artists.

Jukka-Pekka Saraste has been awarded for his merits in the field of music with the Pro Finlandia Prize, the Finnish State Prize for Music and the Commander of the Order of the Lion of Finland.


Violin 1
Pekka Kauppinen 
Jan Söderblom 
Eija Hartikainen
Katariina Jämsä 
Maiju Kauppinen 
Elina Lehto 
Ilkka Lehtonen 
Jani Lehtonen
Kari Olamaa 
Kalinka Pirinen 
Petri Päivärinne 
Satu Savioja
Elina Viitasaari 
Totti Hakkarainen
Angeles Salas Salas
Neea-Noora Piispa

Violin 2
Teija Kivinen
Maaria Leino
Teppo Ali-Mattila
Eva Ballaz
Heini Eklund
Matilda Haavisto
Anna-Maria Huohvanainen
Terhi Ignatius
Sanna Kokko
Liam Mansfield
Harry Rayner
Krista Rosenberg
Virpi Taskila
Venla Saavalainen

Atte Kilpeläinen
Torsten Tiebout
Petteri Poijärvi
Aulikki Haahti-Turunen
Tuomas Huttunen
Kaarina Ikonen
Ulla Knuuttila
Carmen Moggach
Liisa Orava
Mariette Reefman
Hajnalka Standi-Pulakka
Hanna Semper

Tuomas Ylinen 
Beata Antikainen
Basile Ausländer
Jaakko Rajamäki
Aslihan Gencgonül
Fransien Paananen
Johannes Välja
Tommi Wesslund
Päivi Ahonen
Hans Schröck

Ville Väätäinen
Tuomo Matero
Adrian Rigopulos
Paul Aksman
Venla Lahti
Akseli Porkkala
Eero-Kalle Bergman
Hugh Klüger
Elina Raijas
Päivi Korhonen
Jenny Villanen
Clio Scott

Jussi Jaatinen
Nils Rõõmussaar
Anni Haapaniemi
Cristian Moré Coloma

Osmo Linkola (1A)
Anna-Maija Korsimaa
Heikki Nikula
Olli Leppäniemi

Markus Tuukkanen 
Mikko-Pekka Svala 
Noora Van Dok
Erkki Suomalainen

Mika Paajanen (1A)
Ville Hiilivirta
Jonathan Nikkinen
Sam Parkkonen
Joonas Seppelin
Ruben Buils Garcia
Pasi Tiitinen
Erno Toikka

Pasi Pirinen 
Thomas Bugnot 
Mika Tuomisalo
Pasqual Llopis Diago
Obin Meurin
Pedro Dantas

Valtteri Malmivirta
Anu Fagerström
Jussi Vuorinen

Javier Castaño

Xavi Castelló Aràndiga
Mikael Sandström
Pasi Suomalainen
Sampo Kuusisto
Touko Leinonen
Alex Martin Agustin
Elmeri Uusikorpi

Minnaleena Jankko
Katilyne Roels

Satu Elijärvi
Susanne Kujala



Jukka-Pekka Saraste
Jean-Yves Thibaudet


    Aleksandr Skrjabin
    Prometheus, The Poem of Fire
    Anton Bruckner
    Symphony No. 9
Series III
Musiikkitalo Concert Hall
Jukka-Pekka Saraste
Jean-Yves Thibaudet
Aleksandr Skrjabin
Prometheus, The Poem of Fire
Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 9