Sounds from the Heart

Fri 16/02/2024 19:00 - 20:45


The young violinist Johan Dalene is a storyteller of concert halls whose international crowd of admirers grows with each concert and recording.

Swedish-Norwegian Johan Dalene is a storyteller of concert halls whose international crowd of admirers grows with each concert and recording. Gramophone magazine named the evening's violin soloist Young Artist of the Year in 2022. Having recovered from a lightning marriage and divorce, Pyotr Tchaikovsky went through difficulties to victory as he pushed on with his fourth symphony. “Deep down in my heart, I believe this is the best thing I've ever composed.”

Erich Korngold: Violin Concerto

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957) composed a ballet when he was 11, two operas as a teenager, and was still only 23 when he wrote his highly-successful Die tote Stadt. In 1934, he fled to America to escape the Nazis. He was immediately snapped up by Hollywood, and won two Oscars for film scores. His style did not, however, appeal to some, who accused him of pandering to popular taste, and as if to prove his artistic worth, he composed a Violin Concerto in 1945. In doing so, he achieved the impossible: bowing simultaneously to the film and classical music traditions and remaining firmly entrenched in the virtuoso tradition of the Late Romantics. Jascha Heifetz, the soloist at the premiere in 1947, adopted the concerto as his great showpiece for years to come.

Though rooted in the Classical tradition, the concerto is by nature cinematographic and draws on some of Korngold’s own Hollywood themes. The main theme of the opening movement is from the film Another Dawn, and the second theme is from Juarez. Almost all the second movement consists of variations on a theme from Anthony Adverse, and the finale folk dances take up the beat of The Prince and the Pauper.

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 36

Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893) wrote his fourth symphony in 1877. Always self-critical, he wondered whether anyone would ever listen to it once he had left this world. He need not have been pessimistic, for it is still one of his most popular works. Describing it in a letter to its dedicatee Nadezhda von Meck, he explained that the opening fanfare is Fate: “that fateful force which prevents the impulse to happiness from attaining its goal.” The second movement captures “that melancholy feeling that comes in the evenings when, weary from your labour, you sit alone, and take a book”; the third “the elusive images that can rush past in the imagination when you have drunk a little wine”; and the finale “a picture of festive merriment”.

The fate to which Tchaikovsky refers may have been his homosexuality. Some of the motifs, on the other hand, point to the aria in Bizet’s Carmen when she sees her death forecast in the cards. Be that as it may, the symphony also expresses the ultra-romantic idea (which Tchaikovsky admitted having borrowed from Beethoven’s fifth symphony) of victory over adversity.

Violin 1
Pekka Kauppinen 
Kreeta-Julia Heikkilä 
Pekko Pulakka 
Eija Hartikainen 
Katariina Jämsä 
Helmi Kuusi 
Elina Lehto 
Ilkka Lehtonen 
Jani Lehtonen 
Kari Olamaa 
Kalinka Pirinen 
Petri Päivärinne 
Satu Savioja 
Elina Viitasaari 
Totti Hakkarainen
Venla Saavalainen

Violin 2
Kamran Omarli 
Teija Kivinen 
Heini Eklund
Maaria Leino
Teppo Ali-Mattila
Liam Mansfield
Siiri Rasta
Krista Rosenberg
Terhi Ignatius
Anna-Maria Huohvanainen
Sanna Kokko
Virpi Taskila
Eleonora Oswald
Neea-Noora Piispa

Torsten Tiebout 
Petteri Poijärvi 
Lotta Poijärvi
Aulikki Haahti-Turunen
Tuomas Huttunen
Tiila Kangas
Ulla Knuuttila
Carmen Moggach
Mariette Reefman
Hajnalka Standi-Pulakka
Hanna Semper
Charlotta Westerback

Tuomas Ylinen 
Beata Antikainen
Basile Ausländer
Mathias Hortling
Veli-Matti Iljin
Jaakko Rajamäki
Saara Särkimäki
Aslihan Gencgonül
Fransien Paananen
Hans Schröck

Ville Väätäinen 
Adrian Rigopulos
Paul Aksman
Eero Ignatius
Oskari Hänninen
Venla Lahti
Akseli Porkkala
Eero-Kalle Bergman
Niamh Mc Kenna
Jenny Villanen
Elina Ceprova

Hannu Perttilä
Paula Malmivaara

Taavi Orro 
Anna-Maija Korsimaa
Heikki Nikula

Markus Tuukkanen 
Vertti Tapanainen

Mika Paajanen 
Miska Miettunen
Jonathan Nikkinen
Joonas Seppelin

Thomas Bugnot 
Obin Meurin

Valtteri Malmivirta 
Anu Fagerström
Joni Taskinen

Ilkka Marttila

Tomi Wikström 

Mikael Sandström 
Xavi Castelló Aràndiga
Pasi Suomalainen

Minnaleena Jankko 

Minna Koskimies



Michael Sanderling
Johan Dalene


    Erich Korngold
    Violin Concerto
    Pjotr Tšaikovski
    Symphony No. 4
Series IV
Musiikkitalo Concert Hall
Michael Sanderling
Johan Dalene
Erich Korngold
Violin Concerto
Pjotr Tšaikovski
Symphony No. 4