Kaupunginorkesteri kirjastossasi 2023

The Philharmonic at the Library

Musicians from the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra to perform chamber music at local libraries in November

The Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra is once again teaming up with the Helsinki City Library for a chamber music tour in local libraries throughout the city this November.

Musicians from the orchestra will perform at twelve libraries, bringing with them chamber music from the early 1900s, Argentinian tangos by Astor Piazzolla, music for bassoon and electronics, and even a concert that combines storytelling and music. Each library concert will last approximately half an hour, and admission is free of charge. This is the fourth year of The Philharmonic at the Library tour.

The tour begins on Monday 6 November at Munkkiniemi Library and ends on Wednesday 29 November at the Rikhardinkatu Library. The concerts begin at noon or 6pm. The Philharmonic at the Library tour provides easy access to high-quality chamber music concerts for local residents in their own public libraries.

Further information about library concerts:


Paris in 1904

  • MON 6.11 at 18.00 Munkkiniemi Library  
  • TUE 7.11 at 18.00 Etelä-Haaga Library  
  • FRI 10.11 at 12.00 Tapulikaupunki Library  

Eva Ballaz, violin 
Liam Mansfield, violin 
Ulla Knuuttila, viola  
Basile Ausländer, cello  

Tango Concert

  • MON 13.11 at 18.00 Itäkeskus Library  
  • TUE 14.11 at 12.00 Viikki Library  
  • WED 15.11 at 12.00 Töölö Library  

Ilmo Saaristo, cello  
Janne Hovi, piano  

Music for Bassoon and Electronics

  • MON 20.11 at 18.00 Käpylä Library  
  • TUE 21.11 at 18.00 Kallio Library  
  • FRI 24.11 at 12.00 Herttoniemi Library  

Erkki Suomalainen, bassoon and electronics  

Once Upon a Time

  • MON 27.11 at 12.00 Lauttasaari Library  
  • TUE 28.11 at 18.00 Puistola Library  
  • WED 29.11 at 12.00 Rikhardinkatu Library  

Carmen Moggach, viola and narration
Elina Raijas, flute and narration  
Hannu Perttilä, oboe and narration  
Noora Van Dok, bassoon and narration  

Photo: Maarit Kytöharju